Ride to Ruin

Event. Cost: 1.

Action: Discard a Rohan ally to choose a location. Place 3 progress tokens on that location.

"Death! Ride, ride to ruin and the world's ending!"
Éomer, The Return of the King
Erfian Asafat

The Hills of Emyn Muil #78. Spirit.

Ride to Ruin
Reviews

Ride to Ruin is a very good card, but doesn't capture the epicness of the moment it's inspired from. Let's just call it one resource for three progress since you'll probably get a benefit from losing that Rohan ally. I don't now anyone that wouldn't want that, especially considering the fact that it can explore a location before quest resolution.

You wouldn’t get that ally’s discard effect in addition to this event’s discard a — Copterman 265
Action* — Copterman 265
@copterman that is true. However, in the Rohan archetype allies are intended to be discarded for passive effects as well. Tactics Eomer, Eomund, and Gamling are some examples :) — Uruk-guy 448
Can the ally be discarded from hand or just from play? — edgarmolas 1
Only from play, I think — GreenWizard 261
Does it have to be YOUR Rohan ally that you discard - that is, could you discard another player's Rohan ally? — medouneu 21
@medouneu: Yes. "Do XYZ to ABC..." (in this case: discard an ally) is a cost you have to pay. You can only pay for costs for your own resources/cards. — blueluke 128
*pay with your own... The relevant rule: http://lotr-lcg-quest-companion.gamersdungeon.net/#Rule168 — blueluke 128