We Are Not Idle

Event. Cost: 0.

Action: Exhaust X Dwarf heroes to add X resources to a hero's resource pool and draw 1 card.

"You should see the stone-paved roads of many colours! And the halls and cavernous streets under the earth with arches carved like trees; and the terraces and towers upon the Mountain's sides! Then you would see that we have not been idle." Glóin, The Fellowship of the Ring
Charles Urbach

Shadow and Flame #129. Leadership.

We Are Not Idle
Reviews

We Are not Idle was quite popular until it was errata'd, when it practically vanished. I'd like t point out that it is still a great card, errata or no.

Let's take a look a pre-errata WanI. You could play it early to get that early game boost, something that Dwarf decks could really use. Late game, you could play it with Lure of Moria to create a broken combo; adding ten+ resources to a hero (and drawing a card). Awesome, right? Right. Too awesome. So when you are not Idle and are Lured to Moria by Atanantar's Tome after eating Second Breakfast, an infinite combo loop is created; allowing you win nearly any quest on turn one. This lead to the fist of errata crashing down on this card.

Now, should this card have gotten the cold shoulder instead of any of the other cards? Could it have just been given a limit on the number of Dwarves you exhaust instead of switching to heroes. Maybe. Either of those would have saved the card's power, but that's not the point. Let's not get to carried away with what-ifs, and focus on how useful the card still is.

You can of course, include it four the sole purpose of thinning your deck, something I find myself doing often. The real strength of this card comes from the ability to boost your first round with an extra card and a resource or two. The cost of a hero's action isn't quite so bad when you're playing something out of the deal. Perhaps an ally to fill the void of the hero you exhausted. Maybe a failsafe in Durin's Song or Sneak Attack. Or what if you just need one more resource to play that Steward of Gondor to kickstart your engine. Of course, this card is nowhere near is powerful know that you exhaust hero's instead of allies. Of course, the infinite combo still works if you add Sword Thain. That's not a problem! Well, the latter certainly is, and the former is unfortunate, but the point is, we can still enjoy this beauty for what it is.

Mostly notable for its interaction with Lure of Moria in dwarf barf decks, but any deck with leadership can also run three of this as a thinner - exhaust zero dwarves, draw a card for free. Now your deck is effectively 47 cards. Cheesy, but strategically sound.

I saw this in a deck list that had no Dwarves, so I looked at the comments and noticed that it is suggested to use as deck-thinning. There is an opportunity cost. If you draw one in your oppening hand, you obfuscate one of your cards which makes it difficult to decide to mulligan or not. Because of this, the deck thinning is not statistically significant enough to warrant more difficult opening hands. I guess what I'm saying is YMMV if you have no Dwarves in a deck that runs this.

There's definitely an opportunity cost. Let's say you're running a Spirit Glorfindel deck and your one and only goal is to get a first-turn Light of Valinor. — Some Sort 2367
There's definitely an opportunity cost. Let's say you're running a Spirit Glorfindel deck and your one and only goal is to get a first-turn Light of Valinor. — Some Sort 2367
There's definitely an opportunity cost. Let's say you're running a Spirit Glorfindel deck and your one and only goal is to get a first-turn Light of Valinor. If Light of Valinor would have been in the 6th slot of your pre-mulligan hand, but instead got bumped to the 7th slot because of WANI, then you mulliganed away a hand that would have given you what you wanted. At the same time, if Light of Valinor is in the *8th* slot of your post-mulligan hand and you have a WANI, then you just lucked into your goal. Statistically, both scenarios are equally likely and should offset. WANI's thinning aspect doesn't really help you when it comes to the opening hand, but it definitely impacts subsequent draws. (Also, sorry for posting multiple times, RingsDB spazzed out on me.) — Some Sort 2367
Running WANI doesn't change the likelihood of drawing a specific card in your starting hand. In the example above, there is no way that it would 'bump' Light of Valinor to a different position in your deck. If you didn't run WANI, you would draw whatever you are running as a replacement, most likely another card that is irrelevant to your mulligan decision. In other words, WANI doesn't make it less likely to find key cards in your starting hand. It only obfuscates whether you have a good mix of different card types and spheres. — ShiraHata 51

Got Errated. images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com

"We Are Not Idle D 129
Should read: “Exhaust X Dwarf heroes to add X...”"

Sarseth 130
I saw this in a deck list that had no Dwarves, so I looked at the comments and noticed that it is suggested to use as deck-thinning. There is an opportunity cost. If you draw one in your oppening hand, you obfuscate one of your cards which makes it difficult to decide to mulligan or not. Because of this, the deck thinning is not statistically significant enough to warrant more difficult opening hands. — Madd.Dawgg 9
Bah meant to add a new review. Apologies. — Madd.Dawgg 9